Lost in Patriotism, Convention Land and Facebook

Recently I have been spending ALOT of time online, on the couch with the TV tuned to CNN. ALOT of time. I don’t quite recall every paying this much due to our political process.  And i’ve paid my dues – canvasing, phonebanks, rock the vote events, standing on corners in Boston registering voters, picketing etc….  but this election is sucking me in – i now know that Montana has its first woman congress member attending the convention, that new mexico has largest spanish delegate percentage, have become fond of the phrase “the great state” and all its pomp.

I’m officially entrenched and it’s my own fault.  With every election the web becomes more and more important – and the sophistication that the campaign is using with their web marketing?  Every brand should be paying attention.  These guys are GOOD!   I’m amazed at the McCain campaign’s saavy “get” of youtube search terms, impressed by the emails i get everyday from the Obama campaign (and know that it is former Rock The Vote genius at work!)  And I’m consistently fascinated and impressed with my network at their consistent posts, that they too are multitasking during convention craziness….and yes – it does feel like I’m watching with 100 of my friends….somehow it does.

With this election I have been able to truly test the search engine capabilities of that blog button in google…I find myself deep into the search at sites like http://www.palinfacts.com – because i need to know everything about the “pistol packing mother of five” (thanks Cindy) as well as the things that people are making up (it’s a good one – go visit it)

I’m disappointed that i can’t get more of the CNN coverage in their LIVE stream – I can’t wait until we get to IPTV and there is no defining difference between the content streaming on the 2 boxes…..although i do not mind the talking heads  on a bigger screen and being able to do 3 things at once.  My 13″ screen isn’t big enough to handle streaming, blogging, facebooking, and IM’ing. And I truly have given up on watching Jon Stewart at 11pm and he is now my morning coffee (do i really need to see it right before bed? as long as i can chat about it by ten am!)

I wish that our local elections could use the web in the same way – I do believe that engaging people online at the local level around politics is something that hasn’t yet been figured out.  Perhaps a new market for a Citysearch? A Yelp?  There must be a way to get people to review their local congressman with the same fervor that they review the pizza place around the corner……..

Jon Stewart could figure it out….Jon Stewart and Hans Riemer.

Leave a Reply

