future shock

from wikipedia:

Future Shock is a book written by the futurist Alvin Toffler in 1970. In the book, Toffler defines the term “future shock” as a certain psychological state of individuals and entire societies. His shortest definition for the term is a personal perception of “too much change in too short a period of time“.

i do believe we are all experiencing this phenomena. In personal, global and societal ways. All at once. For me my microcosm became semi unmanageable with the entree of 3 new social sharing networks launching into my life within 3 weeks. Two of them I had been on for a while, but nobody else was. But this month…whoa.

Pinterest, Path and now Chill are running rampant in my network. Yeah yeah yeah – I know. My netwrok is different than the average person’s network. I know this. But if I can’t handle all of this “future shock” how in the world is my friend Sarah going to adapt/adopt?

I’m also thinking that my nieces must just be ready for all of this – that they can handle the splintering of their personalities and interests into different networks because they are digital natives. Of course my designy friends are on pinterest, it seems that Path is for friends who want to track waking sleeping and lots of physical exercise (seriously…this is what my path feed looks like: yoga, running, yoga, barre method, walk, run)

At any rate…my nieces. They don’t use alot of different networks. I’ve been trying to get one of them to really dig into instagram with no luck.

I just feel lost right now….i had no idea what the details were on all the Tebow stuff…none. But i did know that Jerry Yang was leaving Yahoo seconds after it happened. I had no idea what Chill was when peoiple started tweeting about it – but that new Bahamas record? Yes. Love.

They say one person can’t know everything. I think that is more true than EVER. But if we are supposed to be well rounded individuals, yet aware of the world around us — right now the world is too BIG!

Future Shock. I’m going to wear an alvin toffler t-shirt to my next start-up meeting.

